discuss@lists.openscad.org

OpenSCAD general discussion Mailing-list

View all threads

suggestion window options override

BL
Bryan Lee
Thu, Jun 3, 2021 8:50 PM

Make sure the file is where OpenSCAD is looking for it.

Typically for me this means:
Saved in the same directory
My openscad file is saved
I've re-opened my openscad file.

There might be some issues with the layers too...

Thus Michele Denber hast written on Thu, Jun 03, 2021 at 03:31:38PM -0400, and, according to prophecy, it shall come to pass that:

While trying to do this in version 2015.03-2

linear_extrude(height = 10, center = true, convexity = 10)
   import (file = "BrainiacDisc.dxf", layer = "plate");

I get this output:

Compiling design (CSG Tree generation)...

Compiling design (CSG Products generation)...

Geometries in cache: 8

Geometry cache size in bytes: 544

CGAL Polyhedrons in cache: 0

CGAL cache size in bytes: 0

Compiling design (CSG Products normalization)...

Normalized CSG tree has 1 elements

Compile and preview finished.

Total rendering time: 0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds

but no graphics in the preview window with either F5 or F6.  Adding a render ()
; doesn't help.  This is the file: https://content.instructables.com/ORIG/FVW/
KRMO/JYOOS8QT/FVWKRMOJYOOS8QT.dxf

I can open it in CorelDraw and it looks OK there.  What am I doing wrong?

            - Michele


OpenSCAD mailing list
To unsubscribe send an email to discuss-leave@lists.openscad.org

Make sure the file is where OpenSCAD is looking for it. Typically for me this means: Saved in the same directory My openscad file is saved I've re-opened my openscad file. There might be some issues with the layers too... Thus Michele Denber hast written on Thu, Jun 03, 2021 at 03:31:38PM -0400, and, according to prophecy, it shall come to pass that: > While trying to do this in version 2015.03-2 > > linear_extrude(height = 10, center = true, convexity = 10) >    import (file = "BrainiacDisc.dxf", layer = "plate"); > > I get this output: > > > Compiling design (CSG Tree generation)... > > Compiling design (CSG Products generation)... > > Geometries in cache: 8 > > Geometry cache size in bytes: 544 > > CGAL Polyhedrons in cache: 0 > > CGAL cache size in bytes: 0 > > Compiling design (CSG Products normalization)... > > Normalized CSG tree has 1 elements > > Compile and preview finished. > > Total rendering time: 0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds > > > but no graphics in the preview window with either F5 or F6.  Adding a render () > ; doesn't help.  This is the file: https://content.instructables.com/ORIG/FVW/ > KRMO/JYOOS8QT/FVWKRMOJYOOS8QT.dxf > > > I can open it in CorelDraw and it looks OK there.  What am I doing wrong? > > >             - Michele > > > _______________________________________________ > OpenSCAD mailing list > To unsubscribe send an email to discuss-leave@lists.openscad.org
MD
Michele Denber
Thu, Jun 3, 2021 9:33 PM

On 06-03-2021 4:01 PM, dpa wrote:

it has a long layer name, not the one you set it scad:

Thanks.  I did not appreciate the significance of all those parameter. 
I just copied them from the example in the user's manual.

            - Michele

On 06-03-2021 4:01 PM, dpa wrote: > it has a long layer name, not the one you set it scad: Thanks.  I did not appreciate the significance of all those parameter.  I just copied them from the example in the user's manual.             - Michele
RW
Rogier Wolff
Fri, Jun 4, 2021 6:00 AM

On Thu, Jun 03, 2021 at 04:23:13PM +0000, Jordan Brown wrote:

� Do
Excel and Word, by default, execute macros embedded in the document when
it is loaded?

They used to, but I haven't used them in a while. (decades).

OpenSCAD is an integrated development environment, an IDE, for a
programming language.  Do any other IDEs automatically execute the
program when you load its source?

It seems that you think of openscad as a program that generates an
object. I think of the openscad code as BEING the object.

A program DOES things. Now, the distinction has become blurry,
Spreadsheets executing macros makes a spreadsheet partly a program.
(Leading to the "don't execute by default on startup" strategy
that is common now.)

In the discussion, I want a variable to change value during execution
it is always said that openscad is not a programming language. On the
other hand, it has lots of features that makes it look like one.

Suppose I make a gui shell around openscad. I click on "new cube" and
it adds "cube ([10,10,10]);" to the internal representation. I click
properties and change the default size to 40/20/10, the gui changes
the representation to "cube ([40,20,10]);". I then click "move object"
in the gui, and it changes to "translate ([0,0,0]) cube ([40,20,10]);"
Now I drag it 50 units along the X axis: "translate ([50,0,0]) cube
([40,20,10]);" .

This is just like word and excel: There is an internal representation
and the user thinks of it as objects in the object-space (for word
the objects are paragraphs, for excel it's datavalues and formulas
and for openscad-gui it's cubes and cylinders).

Current openscad is just this hypothetical openscad-gui but where the
user interacts with the objects in a different way.

Roger. 

--
** R.E.Wolff@BitWizard.nl ** https://www.BitWizard.nl/ ** +31-15-2049110 **
**    Delftechpark 11 2628 XJ  Delft, The Netherlands.  KVK: 27239233    **
f equals m times a. When your f is steady, and your m is going down
your a is going up.  -- Chris Hadfield about flying up the space shuttle.

On Thu, Jun 03, 2021 at 04:23:13PM +0000, Jordan Brown wrote: >� Do > Excel and Word, by default, execute macros embedded in the document when > it is loaded? They used to, but I haven't used them in a while. (decades). > OpenSCAD is an integrated development environment, an IDE, for a > programming language.  Do *any* other IDEs automatically execute the > program when you load its source? It seems that you think of openscad as a program that generates an object. I think of the openscad code as BEING the object. A program DOES things. Now, the distinction has become blurry, Spreadsheets executing macros makes a spreadsheet partly a program. (Leading to the "don't execute by default on startup" strategy that is common now.) In the discussion, I want a variable to change value during execution it is always said that openscad is not a programming language. On the other hand, it has lots of features that makes it look like one. Suppose I make a gui shell around openscad. I click on "new cube" and it adds "cube ([10,10,10]);" to the internal representation. I click properties and change the default size to 40/20/10, the gui changes the representation to "cube ([40,20,10]);". I then click "move object" in the gui, and it changes to "translate ([0,0,0]) cube ([40,20,10]);" Now I drag it 50 units along the X axis: "translate ([50,0,0]) cube ([40,20,10]);" . This is just like word and excel: There is an internal representation and the user thinks of it as objects in the object-space (for word the objects are paragraphs, for excel it's datavalues and formulas and for openscad-gui it's cubes and cylinders). Current openscad is just this hypothetical openscad-gui but where the user interacts with the objects in a different way. Roger. -- ** R.E.Wolff@BitWizard.nl ** https://www.BitWizard.nl/ ** +31-15-2049110 ** ** Delftechpark 11 2628 XJ Delft, The Netherlands. KVK: 27239233 ** f equals m times a. When your f is steady, and your m is going down your a is going up. -- Chris Hadfield about flying up the space shuttle.
JB
Jordan Brown
Fri, Jun 4, 2021 4:35 PM

On 6/3/2021 11:00 PM, Rogier Wolff wrote:

In the discussion, I want a variable to change value during execution
it is always said that openscad is not a programming language. On the
other hand, it has lots of features that makes it look like one.

I call OpenSCAD a programming language.  A very specialized one, but a
programming language nonetheless.  Not that it directly matters to me,
but I believe it's Turing-complete.  There are also arguments that it's
a high-functioning macro language, but I don't find that to be a useful
mental model.  I think computer scientists would describe it as a
functional programming language, but I'm not sure - I'm a software
engineer, not a computer scientist.

Suppose I make a gui shell around openscad. I click on "new cube" and
it adds "cube ([10,10,10]);" to the internal representation. I click
properties and change the default size to 40/20/10, the gui changes
the representation to "cube ([40,20,10]);". I then click "move object"
in the gui, and it changes to "translate ([0,0,0]) cube ([40,20,10]);"
Now I drag it 50 units along the X axis: "translate ([50,0,0]) cube
([40,20,10]);" .

This is just like word and excel: There is an internal representation
and the user thinks of it as objects in the object-space (for word
the objects are paragraphs, for excel it's datavalues and formulas
and for openscad-gui it's cubes and cylinders).

Current openscad is just this hypothetical openscad-gui but where the
user interacts with the objects in a different way.

I consider that to be the most uninteresting use of OpenSCAD possible. 
If you're going to do that, why not just use a CSG tree?  Why bother
with parsing the language and the complexity of variables, modules, et
cetera? Using OpenSCAD to directly represent a CSG tree is like using
Excel to represent an array of values, with no formulas.  Yeah, there
are occasional applications for that trivial case, but formulas are what
makes a spreadsheet an interesting tool.

OpenSCAD is interesting precisely because it allows you to write
programs that generate objects.  Not just lists of objects, transforms,
and boolean operations (and whatever class of operation hull and
minkowski are), but with parameters and loops and decisions and
functions and procedures.

If you're writing BlocksCAD then maybe your internal form would be
OpenSCAD.  But if you're writing a "draw a cube and drag it" style
application, using OpenSCAD as your internal form wouldn't make sense.

I use OpenSCAD precisely because it is not a "draw a cube and drag it"
model.  I was going to say that I occasionally, but rarely, use it in
that model, but I'm not sure that I ever do.  Even the near-trivial
object that I designed yesterday (four cylinders, two transforms) I
wouldn't want to do in a pure draw-and-drag model, because several of
the dimensions are tied to one another.

I was about to say that it wouldn't be wrong to consider an OpenSCAD
program to be a representation of a 3D object, but as I think about it
more that's not correct.  It's not just a 3D object; it's also a
representation of output text.  But more than that:  the Customizer lets
it have a user interface that lets users adjust parameters.  And still
more:  it has random numbers, so even with the same inputs it may not
yield the same object on each run.

I'm not quite sure where this is going, but if you think that OpenSCAD
is just a way to position and combine shapes in 3-space, I think you're
drastically undervaluing it.

On 6/3/2021 11:00 PM, Rogier Wolff wrote: > In the discussion, I want a variable to change value during execution > it is always said that openscad is not a programming language. On the > other hand, it has lots of features that makes it look like one. I call OpenSCAD a programming language.  A very specialized one, but a programming language nonetheless.  Not that it directly matters to me, but I believe it's Turing-complete.  There are also arguments that it's a high-functioning macro language, but I don't find that to be a useful mental model.  I think computer scientists would describe it as a functional programming language, but I'm not sure - I'm a software engineer, not a computer scientist. > Suppose I make a gui shell around openscad. I click on "new cube" and > it adds "cube ([10,10,10]);" to the internal representation. I click > properties and change the default size to 40/20/10, the gui changes > the representation to "cube ([40,20,10]);". I then click "move object" > in the gui, and it changes to "translate ([0,0,0]) cube ([40,20,10]);" > Now I drag it 50 units along the X axis: "translate ([50,0,0]) cube > ([40,20,10]);" . > > This is just like word and excel: There is an internal representation > and the user thinks of it as objects in the object-space (for word > the objects are paragraphs, for excel it's datavalues and formulas > and for openscad-gui it's cubes and cylinders). > > Current openscad is just this hypothetical openscad-gui but where the > user interacts with the objects in a different way. I consider that to be the most uninteresting use of OpenSCAD possible.  If you're going to do that, why not just use a CSG tree?  Why bother with parsing the language and the complexity of variables, modules, et cetera? Using OpenSCAD to directly represent a CSG tree is like using Excel to represent an array of values, with no formulas.  Yeah, there are occasional applications for that trivial case, but formulas are what makes a spreadsheet an interesting tool. OpenSCAD is interesting precisely because it allows you to write programs that generate objects.  Not just lists of objects, transforms, and boolean operations (and whatever class of operation hull and minkowski are), but with parameters and loops and decisions and functions and procedures. If you're writing BlocksCAD then maybe your internal form would be OpenSCAD.  But if you're writing a "draw a cube and drag it" style application, using OpenSCAD as your internal form wouldn't make sense. I use OpenSCAD precisely because it is *not* a "draw a cube and drag it" model.  I was going to say that I occasionally, but rarely, use it in that model, but I'm not sure that I *ever* do.  Even the near-trivial object that I designed yesterday (four cylinders, two transforms) I wouldn't want to do in a pure draw-and-drag model, because several of the dimensions are tied to one another. I was about to say that it wouldn't be wrong to consider an OpenSCAD program to be a representation of a 3D object, but as I think about it more that's not correct.  It's not *just* a 3D object; it's also a representation of output text.  But more than that:  the Customizer lets it have a user interface that lets users adjust parameters.  And still more:  it has random numbers, so even with the same inputs it may not yield the same object on each run. I'm not quite sure where this is going, but if you think that OpenSCAD is just a way to position and combine shapes in 3-space, I think you're drastically undervaluing it.
M
MichaelAtOz
Sat, Jun 5, 2021 8:13 AM

Dragging this back on topic.

Perhaps a command-line option?

enable 'customizer mode',

openscad.exe --customizer some-thing.scad

or just a hide or show windows option

openscad.exe --windows=[console,customizer] some-thing.scad

(any not included are hidden)


From: snas [mailto:savagerodent000@gmail.com]
Sent: Thu, 3 Jun 2021 23:25
To: discuss@lists.openscad.org
Subject: [OpenSCAD] suggestion window options override

I think Openscad is quite intimidating to those without programming experience and so anything that
makes it easier to use and less intimidating can only be a good thing. With that in mind, I would
like to suggest adding a feature whereby the window options can be set/overridden using a bit of
code within the scad file itself.

eg
window(editor=0, consol=0, error log=0, customizer=1);

This way designers can export their creations in their least threatening, Customizer form.

I know it doesn't seem like a big deal to simply tell new users to go to the window menu and change
the window options manually but all these little frictions add up and can ultimately put some
people off using scad, which would be a real shame. The one good thing about Thingvese's Customizer
was its usability, no installation, no lists of menus, no unfamiliar icons, just very
straightforward to use.  Openscad may be better than Customizer in every other respect but it could
still aspire to Customizer level of accessibility.

Insedenterly, I have no idea how easy or not it would be to modify the UI from code within the
editor! :D


Sent from the OpenSCAD mailing list http://forum.openscad.org/  archive at Nabble.com.

--
This email has been checked for viruses by AVG.
https://www.avg.com

Dragging this back on topic. Perhaps a command-line option? enable 'customizer mode', openscad.exe --customizer some-thing.scad or just a hide or show windows option openscad.exe --windows=[console,customizer] some-thing.scad (any not included are hidden) _____ From: snas [mailto:savagerodent000@gmail.com] Sent: Thu, 3 Jun 2021 23:25 To: discuss@lists.openscad.org Subject: [OpenSCAD] suggestion window options override I think Openscad is quite intimidating to those without programming experience and so anything that makes it easier to use and less intimidating can only be a good thing. With that in mind, I would like to suggest adding a feature whereby the window options can be set/overridden using a bit of code within the scad file itself. eg window(editor=0, consol=0, error log=0, customizer=1); This way designers can export their creations in their least threatening, Customizer form. I know it doesn't seem like a big deal to simply tell new users to go to the window menu and change the window options manually but all these little frictions add up and can ultimately put some people off using scad, which would be a real shame. The one good thing about Thingvese's Customizer was its usability, no installation, no lists of menus, no unfamiliar icons, just very straightforward to use. Openscad may be better than Customizer in every other respect but it could still aspire to Customizer level of accessibility. Insedenterly, I have no idea how easy or not it would be to modify the UI from code within the editor! :D _____ Sent from the OpenSCAD mailing list <http://forum.openscad.org/> archive at Nabble.com. -- This email has been checked for viruses by AVG. https://www.avg.com
WF
William F. Adams
Sat, Jun 5, 2021 12:45 PM

Why not have both?
Aren't there options for putting CLI options on the first line of a file in a comment in some tools? 
If there aren't any CLI options invoked, then parse that first line and execute any commands which are in the comments.
William

Why not have both? Aren't there options for putting CLI options on the first line of a file in a comment in some tools?  If there aren't any CLI options invoked, then parse that first line and execute any commands which are in the comments. William
T
Troberg
Sat, Jun 5, 2021 5:51 PM

rew wrote

Welll.... IMHO, the "auto-preview-on-load" feature should be on by
default. This is for consistency with other programs: Everything from
word and exel to "eagle" has an internal representation (modern word
and exel, that's an XML representation), which gets rendered to the
screen on startup. You might argue that openscad may need several
minutes to render something. Agreed. That's a disadvantage.

And sometimes you eff up and get stuck in an infinite loop and have to kill
OpenSCAD to get out of it. It's nice if the first thing to happen when you
restart it isn't a new lockup...

--
Sent from: http://forum.openscad.org/

rew wrote > Welll.... IMHO, the "auto-preview-on-load" feature should be on by > default. This is for consistency with other programs: Everything from > word and exel to "eagle" has an internal representation (modern word > and exel, that's an XML representation), which gets rendered to the > screen on startup. You might argue that openscad may need several > minutes to render something. Agreed. That's a disadvantage. And sometimes you eff up and get stuck in an infinite loop and have to kill OpenSCAD to get out of it. It's nice if the first thing to happen when you restart it isn't a new lockup... -- Sent from: http://forum.openscad.org/
JB
Jordan Brown
Sun, Jun 6, 2021 2:55 PM

On 6/5/2021 1:13 AM, MichaelAtOz wrote:

Dragging this back on topic.

Perhaps a command-line option?

 

enable 'customizer mode',

 

openscad.exe --customizer some-thing.scad

 

or just a hide or show windows option

 

openscad.exe --windows=[console,customizer] some-thing.scad

 

(any not included are hidden)

Doesn't really address the "total newbie not really interested in
OpenSCAD per se has downloaded a customizable object from Thingiverse"
use case.

On 6/5/2021 1:13 AM, MichaelAtOz wrote: > > Dragging this back on topic. > > Perhaps a command-line option? > >   > > enable 'customizer mode', > >   > > openscad.exe --customizer some-thing.scad > >   > > or just a hide or show windows option > >   > > openscad.exe --windows=[console,customizer] some-thing.scad > >   > > (any not included are hidden) > > Doesn't really address the "total newbie not really interested in OpenSCAD per se has downloaded a customizable object from Thingiverse" use case.
NH
nop head
Sun, Jun 6, 2021 3:40 PM

If they are not interested in OpenSCAD why wouldn't they just use the
Thingiverse customiser to get a customised STL? Why does OpenSCAD need to
cater for  newbies not really interested in OpenSCAD?

On Sun, 6 Jun 2021 at 16:31, Jordan Brown openscad@jordan.maileater.net
wrote:

On 6/5/2021 1:13 AM, MichaelAtOz wrote:

Dragging this back on topic.

Perhaps a command-line option?

enable 'customizer mode',

openscad.exe --customizer some-thing.scad

or just a hide or show windows option

openscad.exe --windows=[console,customizer] some-thing.scad

(any not included are hidden)

Doesn't really address the "total newbie not really interested in OpenSCAD
per se has downloaded a customizable object from Thingiverse" use case.


OpenSCAD mailing list
To unsubscribe send an email to discuss-leave@lists.openscad.org

If they are not interested in OpenSCAD why wouldn't they just use the Thingiverse customiser to get a customised STL? Why does OpenSCAD need to cater for newbies not really interested in OpenSCAD? On Sun, 6 Jun 2021 at 16:31, Jordan Brown <openscad@jordan.maileater.net> wrote: > On 6/5/2021 1:13 AM, MichaelAtOz wrote: > > Dragging this back on topic. > > Perhaps a command-line option? > > > > enable 'customizer mode', > > > > openscad.exe --customizer some-thing.scad > > > > or just a hide or show windows option > > > > openscad.exe --windows=[console,customizer] some-thing.scad > > > > (any not included are hidden) > > > Doesn't really address the "total newbie not really interested in OpenSCAD > per se has downloaded a customizable object from Thingiverse" use case. > > _______________________________________________ > OpenSCAD mailing list > To unsubscribe send an email to discuss-leave@lists.openscad.org >